History

In the Cousineau family, the passion for food started back with Mr. Alcide Cousineau, father of Jean Cousineau, who started in a grocery store at the age of 11. He worked for the grocery chain A&P for several years, later acquiring a grocery store of his own in 1963 and then a second in 1976. Jean Cousineau became a share holder in 1986, when his father decided to retire and sell his stores to him and his two brothers. Jean Cousineau continued to be co-owner until 2006. In august of the same year, he decided to start on a great adventure and open an IGA Extra in Varennes, by the highway 132.

The opening of this new store was well awaited by the varennoise community. That night, an unexpected number of people attended the event. The launch went so well that it grabbed the attention of the head office of Sobey’s Quebec. For the next several days, it seemed to be the topic conversation at the offices in Montreal North. The inauguration in Varennes was on everybody’s mind. The success of the store was a definite reflection of the opening. For the next several years, the sales of the store were on continuous rise even with the arrival of a well known competitor just a few streets away.

In June of 2009, the business is on a steady pace and Jean Cousineau buys back the store he once ran with his brother Daniel. This IGA has fifteen thousand square feet. Situated in the sector of Fatima in Longueuil, he moves the store to a new location, a short distance away on boulevard Jean-Paul Vincent, in a much larger new building (thirty six thousand square feet) with brand new equipment and a fresh décor. Just like in Varennes, the opening is a great success. The variety and freshness of the products as well as the quality of the service draws customers from all over.

Jean Cousineau says that the success of his business does not solely fall on his shoulders. He’s continuously praising his team, knowing that without them, he wouldn’t have an IGA. Within his team, it is very important to mention Martine René de Cotret, his wife and loyal acolyte for over thirty years and who has been working with him in the administration of his stores since 1996. His two dependable friends of many years also hold key positions: Yves Lalonde, director in Varennes and Mario Blanchet, director in Longueuil, put their hearts into their work week after week, to ensure the success of each IGA. Jean Cousineau, with all his experience and his 250 employees, is never forgetting his managers’ help to create a work place that is pleasant and has a family atmosphere.

Weather for the shopping experience or for the work environment, we have to remember the name of Jean Cousineau because his story has just begun!

histoire

Varennes

1777 Rte 132
Varennes, J3X 1P7
450-929-0405

Google maps

Services: Buffets, On line Grocery, Delivery, Sushi Bar, Flowers and gifts shop, Videoself, Specialized gourmet counter, Carpet cleaning machine rental, T’IGA Fan Club, Telephone grocery service for the elderly, National Bank ATM.

Longueuil

455 Jean-Paul-Vincent
Longueuil, J4G 1R3
450-646-4302

Google maps

Services: Buffets, Online grocery, Delivery, Specialized gourmet counter, Carpet cleaning machine rental, Digital Printing terminal, “Iso Famille” certified, National Bank ATM.

Questions & Comments

Historique

Dans la famille Cousineau, la passion de l’alimentation ne date pas d’hier. Monsieur Alcide Cousineau, père de Jean Cousineau, travaille dans le domaine depuis qu’il a 11 ans. Il aura travaillé pour la chaîne A&P pendant plusieurs années pour ensuite faire l’acquisition de deux épiceries, en 1963 et en 1976. C’est en 1986 que Jean Cousineau devient actionnaire, lorsque son père décide de prendre sa retraite et de vendre les magasins à lui et ses deux frères. Jusqu’en 2006, Jean Cousineau sera copropriétaire. C’est au mois d’août de cette année-là qu’il décide de se lancer seul dans une grande aventure : celle d’ouvrir un IGA Extra à Varennes, en bordure de la route 132.

Ce nouveau venu, très attendu par la communauté varennoise, a attiré une foule inespérée dès la première soirée. Chez Sobey’s Québec, la maison-mère d’IGA, l’engouement provoqué par cette ouverture en a surpris plus d’un. Pendant plusieurs jours, aux bureaux de Montréal-Nord, l’inauguration du magasin de Varennes était sur toutes les lèvres. Le succès du commerce est à l’image de la soirée puisque pendant ses premières années, les ventes du magasin ne cessent de progresser et ce, malgré l’ouverture d’un magasin d’une bannière concurrente à quelques rues.

En juin 2009, les affaires vont bon train et Jean Cousineau rachète le commerce qu’il avait jadis géré avec son frère Daniel. Ce IGA de quinze mille pieds carrés, situé dans le secteur Fatima à Longueuil, déménage et s’installe à peine un kilomètre plus loin sur le boulevard Jean-Paul Vincent, dans de nouveaux locaux beaucoup plus vastes (trente sept mille pieds carrés), avec de nouveaux équipements et un décor au goût du jour. Tout comme à Varennes, dès l’ouverture, le succès est au rendez-vous, au grand dam de la concurrence. La variété et la fraîcheur des produits que l’on y trouve ainsi que la qualité du service offert attire la clientèle des quatre coins de la ville.

Jean Cousineau le dit sans gêne, le succès de ses commerces ne repose pas seulement sur ses épaules. Il vante sans cesse les mérites de son équipe, sans qui il n’aurait pas de IGA. Parmi les membres de cette équipe, il est primordial de mentionner Martine René de Cotret, sa conjointe et fidèle acolyte depuis plus de trente ans et qui travaille avec lui à l’administration des magasins depuis 1996. Deux grands amis de longue date occupent aussi des postes clés: Yves Lalonde (à Varennes) et Mario Blanchet (à Longueuil) sont les directeurs des magasins et travaillent d’arrache-pied, semaine après semaine, afin de faire progresser cette belle entreprise. Fort de son expérience avec plus de 250 employés, Jean Cousineau a su créer, avec l’aide de ses gestionnaires, une ambiance de travail familiale et agréable, où chacun y trouve son compte.

Finalement, que ce soit pour une expérience de magasinage ou pour une expérience de travail, il faut retenir le nom de Jean Cousineau car l’histoire ne fait que commencer!

histoire

Varennes

1777 Rte 132
Varennes, J3X 1P7
450-929-0405

Google maps

Services offerts : Buffets, Commandes Internet, Commandes téléphoniques pour les personnes âgées, Livraison, Comptoir à sushis, Boutique de fleurs et cadeaux, Comptoir de viandes spécialisées, Machines à tapis, Club T’IGA, Guichet automatique de la Banque Nationale.

Longueuil

455 Jean-Paul-Vincent
Longueuil, J4G 1R3
450-646-4302

Google maps

Services offerts : Buffets, Commandes Internet, Livraison, Comptoir de viandes spécialisées, Machines à tapis, Borne d’impression de photo instantanée, Commerce Certifié Iso Famille, Guichet automatique de la Banque Nationale.

Questions/Commentaires